Hopp til innholdet

CFP: Children’s Literature and Digital Humanities

University of Antwerp, 22-23 October 2020

In recent years, Digital Humanities has had a big impact on the field of literary studies as a whole, but its presence in children’s literature studies has been limited so far. This two-day conference seeks to unite scholars using digital tools for the analysis of children’s literature, culture and media to reflect on the state of the art, exchange methodological expertise, discuss avenues and issues for further research and build networks. We welcome abstracts for 20-minute papers, 1-hour round-table discussions and poster presentations on the following topics:

  • Building and using digital archives of children’s books
  • Methodological opportunities and challenges in applying DH to children’s literature
  • Macroanalytic approaches to children’s literature (with a focus on e.g. canonisation, cultural change, diversity)
  • Topic modelling and children’s books
  • Stylometric approaches to children’s literature
  • Network analysis and children’s literature (both content analysis and network analyses of the field)
  • Digital analyses of visuals in children’s books
  • Digital scholarly editing of children’s books
  • Methodologies for exploring digital adaptations of children’s literature (e-books, audio books, animated picture books)
  • Bridging the gap between computational approaches to children’s literature and the dissemination of results to a wide audience
  • Digital tools to organize and facilitate children’s literature research

Send 400-word abstracts and short bios to childlit@uantwerpen.be before 15 March 2020. Indicate if you want to give a paper, host a round-table discussion or present a poster. Selected participants will be notified before 1 April 2020.

This conference is hosted by the Antwerp Centre for Digital Humanities and Literary Criticism (ACDC), in collaboration with the research team of the ERC-funded project Constructing Age for Young Readers (CAFYR). The conference organisers are Vanessa Joosen and Wouter Haverals.

Relaterte innlegg